What is a vegan, anyway?
- Someone who eats a huge range of delicious food!
- Someone who doesn’t eat, wear or use anything that comes from any animal, dead or alive.
That means ‘no thanks’ to:
- meat (beef, lamb, pork, goat etc) – or anything from them (pâté, bacon, brawn etc)
- poultry (chicken, turkey, duck, goose, pheasant etc) – or anything from them (chicken liver; foie gras etc)
- fish or fish roe (caviar etc)
- water creatures, sea or fresh-water (prawns, oysters, crabs, lobsters, mussels etc)
- by-products from animals such as gelatine, animal fat (lard), isinglass (fish bladders), lanolin (sheep’s wool – often from slaughtered sheep)
- dairy (milk, cheese, cream, yoghurt, crème fraiche etc)
- by-products from dairy or eggs such as whey, skimmed milk, casein, albumen
- honey – because bees are frequently killed during its production. And it’s their food, not ours!
- leather, wool or silk – a lot of wool comes from slaughtered sheep. Leather and silk always involve death for creatures
- cosmetics or toiletries that contain animal substances
... and see Hidden Nasties for a more comprehensive list!