The L-Plate Vegetarian
What’s a veggie?
A vegetarian simply doesn’t eat any dead animals or bits taken from
them. That means no meat, poultry (chicken, turkey, duck etc), fish or other
water animals (prawns, crabs etc) or disgusting things such as gelatine and
animal fat. A vegan doesn’t eat any animal products including eggs
or dairy (eg milk, cheese, butter).
Gelatine is used to gel some sweets, jelly, yoghurts and other
products. It’s made from boiling bones, hooves and horns of
pigs, cows and horses. Check the ingredients lists if you want to
avoid it. If you see the words ‘guar gum’ or ‘agar
agar’, you’re on safe ground – these are the veggie
alternatives to gelatine.
Animal fat is just that – the fat from the bodies of dead
animals. It’s boiled off the skin and used in some biscuits,
margarine, cake, soups and other things. Suet is the fat taken from
around an animal’s
kidneys. Fortunately, animal fat and suet are seen as unhealthy and
lots of products now only use vegetable fats – again just look
at the ingredients.
Next Section: Sandwiches and packed lunches